Writing to Inform

This term, Year 2 have been learning about informative texts.

There are many language features that can help us to improve our writing, including:

  • verbs (e.g. jump, run)
  • adverbs (e.g. quickly, slowly, fast, beautifully)
  • prepositions (e.g. on, in, beside, beneath, upon)
  • time connectives (e.g. directly after, following that, next)

Take a look at the clips below that we have watched in class.

 

Click here to play a game about adverbs and here to play a game about prepositions.

Can you leave a sentence using some of the language features we have learnt about so far?

About Miss Ashley Azzopardi

My name is Ashley Azzopardi and I teach a Year 2 class in Sydney, Australia.
This entry was posted in English and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Writing to Inform

  1. D.I says:

    Dear Year Two,

    We have being learning about adverbs which describe the verb, and last term we learnt about nouns, which are a person, place or thing. Last term we learnt about ajectives, which describe the noun.

    Examples:

    I lowered carefully the hot kettle and poured the steaming tea into my yellow cup.
    I patted gently my fluffy pet while it was sleeping peacefully.

    Kind Regards,

    D.I.

  2. S.L says:

    Dear Year Two,
    I love learning about preposition, like on, through, in and outside.
    Regards,
    S.L.

  3. S.lL says:

    Dear year two,
    This term we have been learning about verbs,adverbs,preposition

    Kind regards

  4. A.M says:

    A.M
    Dear year two,

    This term we have been learning about adverds song and verbs too.

  5. M-D says:

    Dear year two

    In English we are learning about verbs, adverbs , preposition and nouns.
    At home I played the Adverb spin game with my mum.

    kind regards
    M.D

  6. M-D says:

    Dear year two

    Today I practice my Adverbs playing spin game on the blog and I won the game. I was the Blue team.

  7. DI says:

    Dear Year Two,

    We just started learning abut prepositions and also did an activate about finding 10 cards and telling there position. I enjoyed doing that activate and we will learn more about prepositions and what there job is.

    Kind Regards,

    D.I

  8. J.N says:

    Dear yeartwo,
    This them l am landing about prepositions. Prepositions come before a verb.

    King Regards J.N

  9. C.N says:

    Dear D.I,
    I really liked how you put examples and checked it. I also liked how you spoke about want we have been learning about each term.
    You put a lot of effort in your work, I can tell.
    Great job!!
    Kind reguards
    C.N

  10. D.K says:

    Dear year two,

    This term we have be lering about verbs,adverbs and prepositions!!

Leave a Reply

