There’s No Place Like Home!

In Science and Technology this term, Year 2 are learning about living things and where they live (their habitats).

Living things move, grow, need food and water, reproduce and breathe.

Habitats are the natural home or environment of a living thing. For example, forests, deserts, oceans, wetlands, grasslands, mountains, fresh water and the north pole.

Within habitats, there are microhabitats. Microhabitats are small habitats. They are small places, but many animals can live there. For example, under logs, small clumps of grass, under rocks, under bushes, trees, flowers and a rock pool.

Last week, Year 2 predicted what animals they might find in microhabitats around our school. They then explored garden beds, pots, trees and small bushes with magnifying glasses to see what animals they could find.

Take a look at the photos below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click on the image below to play a game. Be a garden detective and find all the small creatures in the garden.

garden-detective

What animals did you find in our playground?

What animals have you found in a garden, park or beach?

What did you like about the Garden Detective game?

About Miss Ashley Azzopardi

My name is Ashley Azzopardi and I teach a Year 2 class in Sydney, Australia.
This entry was posted in Science and Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to There’s No Place Like Home!

  1. T.L says:

    Dear year two,
    I loved looking at nature.
    I loved looking at lizards,bugs,bees,butterflys,ants,coulerful lady bugs with
    black dots on its body and back.

    I loved looking in the magafine glass at nature

    Regareds.T.L

  2. T.L says:

    Dear year two,
    when I go to the beach I find creatures like
    crabs on the rocks,birds,blue bottles,bottles.

    Regards T.L

  3. E.Y says:

    Dear Year Two,
    I enjoyed playing the detective game because you got to find big and small animals that were awesome and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

  4. N.S says:

    Dear Year two,
    I found a beetle in the playground, a ladybug and a worm.
    I’ve found a crab, jellyfish and dolphin at the beach!
    I liked garden detective because you could find some interesting bugs like a wasp

  5. N.S says:

    Dear year two,

    There are lots of animals in our playground if you look closely. I found a worm, spider, lizard and a beetle.

    I love going to the beach when I’m not at school. I’ve spotted crabs, jellyfish and dolphins at the beach! The park is also fun. I have seen stick insects, stinkbugs and ladybugs at the park!

    I liked playing Garden Detective because you could find heaps of interesting things like, wasps, Butterflies and spiders! And it was also giving us some facts.

    Kind Regards
    N.S

  6. N.S says:

    Dear year two,

    There are lots of animals in our playground if you look closely. I found a worm, spider, lizard and a beetle.

    I love going to the beach when I’m not at school. I’ve spotted crabs, jellyfish and dolphins at the beach! The park is also fun. I have seen stick insects, stinkbugs and ladybugs at the park!

    I liked playing Garden Detective because you could find heaps of interesting things like, wasps, Butterflies and spiders! And it was also giving us some facts.

    Kind Regards
    N.S

  7. S.L says:

    Dear year two,

    In the school playground I found Bugs,a spider in a web,I also found a small ants,a Shink Bug and a big fly.

    At the beach or park I found a yellow big bee.

    Kind Regards S.L

  8. d.k says:

    Dear year two,

    In the big playground in the tyre me and my Partna found a lizard

    Kind regards d.k

  9. C.N says:

    Dear year two,
    I really enjoyed it when Miss Azzopardi’s group use magnify glasses to zoom in and see tiny small insects.
    I t was really fun learning and seeing new types of insects.
    I was shocked when I saw a dragonfly and a yellow ladybug.
    What did you do in your group and what type of insect did you see?
    Kind Regards
    C.N

    • A.V says:

      Dear C.N
      What is your favourite insects in the garden? My favourite insects is a Millipede and a butterfly.
      Kind regards
      A.V

  10. C.H says:

    Dear year two,
    I enjoyed the time when we was being a garden detective and I found a mealworm in the soil
    And we found a black beetle in a flower I was in Miss Forester’s group I used my magnetfinding glass to look at the creatures I glanced carefully at the insects and on the big play ground I saw an orange ant it was speedy and fast once I found a swallow when I was walking to school!
    I really enjoyed the garden detective game because we found different types of insects and we
    Learned lots about habitats!

    Have you ever seen a strange insects before?
    Kind regards from C.H

  11. Simon Crook says:

    Dear Year 2

    It looks like you had a wonderful time looking for different animals in different microhabitats. Well done! I’m looking forward to seeing you all on Thursday, we have a special surprise for you….

    Kind Regards

    Mr Crook

  12. I.H says:

    I.H

    Dear year 2
    I loved to see little bugs like worms, spiders and other small insects.
    It was also fun looking closer with the magnifying glass.

    Have you seen a insect that you have’t seen before

    kind regards

    I.H

  13. T.A says:

    Dear Yeartwo,
    I wonder what’s your favourite minibeast? It’s fun to know about them.I hope to learn about them more.A yellow ladybug is poisonous.
    Kind regards
    T.A

  14. S.L says:

    Dear year two,

    In the Detective game I found, a Dragonfly, a bee, slaters, a bug, a cockroach,a fly ,a wasp, a tick, a beetle, a red ladybug and a spider.

    Kind regards,

    S.L

  15. A.V says:

    Dear Year Two,
    I hope you know what my group saw I don’t know what it is can you research it has two orange antennas its body is black and it’s has six black legs.

    Kind Regards

    A.V

  16. K. S. says:

    Dear year 2,
    I really enjoyed looking for insects. I found a butterfly, werm, spider and bees. At lunch Iwas rolling on the grass. Sabina said theres a bee on your back then I was jumping around but good thing that Isabella got it off. I feet like yelling becuase I thought that the bee would sting me. The funnest on the excursion was the train but we diden’t go on the train.

    Kind Regards

    K.S.

  17. T.L says:

    Dear yeartwo,
    I liked the detective game since it was fun!.

    I liked finding…

    red lady bugs with black dots,bees on the bee hives,spiders in the tree and cocrochers on the grass and on the rocks.

    My favarite part of the game is when we found each creacher and put them in a wite,glass gug.

  18. C.H says:

    Dear year two ,
    I found a butterfly on the play ground that has black and orange speckled wings.Once I found a crab in the rock pool when I went to the beach,I like the garden detective game because I get to find minibeasts.

  19. A.V says:

    Dear Year 2,
    I enjoyed the exrosen and all the liveing things we lernt about thank you teachers for the exrosen we had a fantastic time!!!!!

    kind regads
    A.V

  20. T.A says:

    Dear students,
    My interesting new fact that I found out is that most spiders are harmless they also eat insects.What did you find out about spiders?
    Kind regards,
    T.A

  21. 6a brookburn england says:

    fun game i learnt so many things.

  22. Alex Brookburn says:

    Hi Year Two,
    It looks like you’ve been working really hard.
    Alex 🙂

  23. Josh and Ben says:

    That was a fun little game.

  24. Noor Y6A Brookburn, England says:

    Doing the game was so fun! I love to look for mini-beasts in my garden. Most of the time I only find worms though.

Leave a Reply

